Tacoma Community College Board of Trustees Regular Meeting March 19, 2015, 1:00 p.m. Building 12 ~ College Room

MINUTES

Board Members

Liz Dunbar, Chair Bob Ryan, Vice Chair Gretchen Adams Don Dennis Chad Wright

Administration/Faculty/Staff/Guests

Sheila Ruhland Tod Treat Cathie Bitz Kristen Harrison Mike Flodin Kim Harrington David Endicott Mary DeWine John Sandin Sherry Cmiel Charlie Crawford Craig Cowden Matthew Mburu Meredith LaFlesh Bridgette Agpaoa-Ryder Steve Brown Krista Fox Allison Muir Carol Avery Kim Ward Danielle Ritter Sabine Endicott Rachelle McGill Jonathan Eastabrooks

Keith King Jeff Calkins
Scott Earle Janine Mott
Victoria Ichungwa Val Morgan-Krick
Kelley Sadler Kelly Shaffer

Mecca Salahuddin

I. CALL TO ORDER

Chair **Dunbar** called the meeting to order at 1:02 p.m.

II. Executive Session-Regarding Tenure

At 1:03 p.m. Chair **Dunbar** announced that the Board would adjourn into Executive Session until approximately 4:20 p.m. to interview third year tenure candidates and to discuss tenure issues. Action will be taken as a result of the session.

III. Board Action as a Result of Executive Session

At 4:20 p.m., the Board reconvened for open public meeting.

As a result of Executive Session, the following action was taken:

A. First Year Faculty Advancing to Second Year

<u>MOTION:</u> Upon a motion by Board member **Ryan**, the Board unanimously approved the recommendation of **President Sheila Ruhland** and that of the faculty tenure review committees that the contracts for first-year faculty members **Mark Allen**, Chemistry, **Eric Basham**, Engineering, **Colleen Cawley**, Nursing, **Sellie Clark**, Math, **Rebekah Dalby**, Librarian, **Jillian Edwards**, Nursing, **Jeff Engle**, Chemistry, **Shaun Henderson**, Biology, **Corinne Jarvis**, Health Information Technology, **Ruth Lopes**, Nursing, **Wendy Maita**, Nursing, **Adrian Singh**, Chemistry, **Jeanette Smith-Perrone**, Networking/Cyber Security, and **Chris Willett**, Math, be renewed for Academic Year 2015-16.

B. Second Year Faculty Advancing to Third Year

<u>MOTION:</u> Upon a motion by Board member **Ryan**, the Board unanimously approved the recommendation of **President Sheila Ruhland** and that of the faculty tenure review committees that the contracts for second-year faculty members **Melissa Adams**, Librarian, **Robin Conti**, Nursing, **Kendra Feinstein**, Math, **Wendy Fordham**, Nursing, **Heather Gillanders**, Library, **Anne Lyman**, Music/Choir Director, **Mary Jane Oberhofer**, Business & Logistics, **Mary Pederson**, Counselor, **James Reisdorf**, Accounting, **Jennifer Sorenson**, Paralegal, and **Mary Anne Tagulinao**, Nursing, be renewed for Academic Year 2015-16.

C. Third Year Faculty Consideration

<u>MOTION:</u> Upon a motion by Board member **Ryan**, the Board unanimously approved the recommendation of **President Sheila Ruhland** and that of the faculty tenure review committee that tenure be granted to third-year faculty member **Kristen Harrison** (Biology).

<u>MOTION:</u> Upon a motion by Board member **Ryan**, the Board unanimously approved the recommendation of **President Sheila Ruhland** and that of the faculty tenure review committee that tenure be granted to third-year faculty member **Mary DeWine** (Developmental Studies, English).

<u>MOTION:</u> Upon a motion by Board member **Ryan**, the Board unanimously approved the recommendation of **President Sheila Ruhland** and that of the faculty tenure review committee that tenure be granted to third-year faculty member **Sherry Cmiel** (Libraria).

<u>MOTION:</u> Upon a motion by Board member **Ryan**, the Board unanimously approved the recommendation of **President Sheila Ruhland** and that of the faculty tenure review committee that tenure be granted to third-year faculty member **Matthew Mburu** (Accounting).

<u>MOTION:</u> Upon a motion by Board member **Ryan**, the Board unanimously approved the recommendation of **President Sheila Ruhland** and that of the faculty tenure review committee that tenure be granted to third-year faculty member **Bridgette Agpaoa-Ryder** (Human Services).

<u>MOTION:</u> Upon a motion by Board member **Ryan**, the Board unanimously approved the recommendation of **President Sheila Ruhland** and that of the faculty tenure review committee that tenure be granted to third-year faculty member **Allison Muir** (Adult Basic Education).

<u>MOTION:</u> Upon a motion by Board member **Ryan**, the Board unanimously approved the recommendation of **President Sheila Ruhland** and that of the faculty tenure review committee that tenure be granted to third-year faculty member **Danielle Ritter** (Developmental Studies, English).

<u>MOTION:</u> Upon a motion by Board member **Ryan**, the Board unanimously approved the recommendation of **President Sheila Ruhland** and that of the faculty tenure review committee that tenure be granted to third-year faculty member **Rachelle McGill** (Developmental Studies, English).

<u>MOTION:</u> Upon a motion by Board member **Ryan** of the faculty tenure review committee that tenure be granted to third-year faculty member **Jonathan Eastabrooks** (Health Information).

<u>MOTION:</u> Upon a motion by Board member **Ryan**, the Board unanimously approved the recommendation of **President Sheila Ruhland** and that of the faculty tenure review committee that tenure be granted to third-year faculty member **Jeff Calkins** (English).

Chair Dunbar congratulated the faculty members on their excellence, enthusiasm, and commitment to TCC.

IV. ADJOURNMENT

There	heina r	no further	husiness	the	meeting	was	adiourned	at	4.31	nm
111010	Deling i	io iuitii c i	DUSINGSS.	เมเต	IIICCIIIIU	was	auloullicu	aι	4 .01	DIII.

Liz Dunbar, Chair