#### Tacoma Community College Board of Trustees Tenure Meeting March 13, 2019, 11:45 a.m. Building 12 ~ College Room

### MINUTES

### Administration/Faculty/Staff/Guests

George Iverson Ken Cushman Kim Ward Heather Cushman Tomas Ramos Kathie Gulliford Julie Benson Melissa Urquhart Kelly Sadler Stephanie Thompson John Falskow Paul Landry Andrew Cho Matt Anderson Katrina Taylor **Rick Brady** Ivan Harrell Polly Robinson Sue Schenk Dolores Haugen Dale Coleman Cassie Kniphny Rachel Payne Wendy G Dave Howard Brandon Irvin Sharon Jang Sheri Gietzen Mary Fox DeAndre Holmes Kristina Pogosian Andrew Sorensen Ken Fox Ralph Hitz

Joanne Iverson Ava Ricker **Caitlyn Jones** Annika Cushman Vicky Ramos Analea Brauburger Jonathan Easterbrook Sopang Men Victoria Ichungwa Char Gore Christopher Soran Mary Jane Oberhofer Ivan Ramirez Liz Fortenbery Mary Chikwinya Sonja Morgan Angelique Odom Paul Winch Pam Costas Phil Hunter Cathy Noods Katlyn Mataya Jackie G Darlene Rompogren Will Howard Brandon Carlson-Clarke Bill Ryberg Rob Larson Val M La Toya Reid Sabine Endicott Jennifer Sorensen Cathie Bitz Tamyra Houser

### I. CALL TO ORDER

Chair Curtis called the meeting to order at 11:46 a.m.

# II. Executive Session - Regarding Tenure

At 11:47a.m., Chair announced that the Board would adjourn into Executive Session until approximately 4:15 p.m. to interview third year tenure candidates and to discuss tenure issues. Action will be taken as a result of the session.

At 4:34 p.m., the Board reconvened for open public meeting.

# III. Board Action as a Result of Executive Session

As a result of Executive Session, the following action was taken:

# **Board Members**

James Curtis Bob Ryan Lois Bernstein Liz Dunbar Pat Shuman

### A. First Year Faculty Advancing to Second Year

**MOTION:** Upon a motion by Board member **Bob Ryan**, and seconded by **Lois Bernstein**, the Board unanimously approved the recommendation of **President Ivan Harrell** and that of the faculty tenure review committees that the contracts for first-year faculty members Lexie Generous, Counseling, Jennifer Karshina, Early Childhood Education, Stephanie Khan, Communications & Transitional Studies, Lielie Jarvis, Radiology, Kristen Jenkins, Anthropology and Kellee Rickerl, Respiratory be renewed for the Academic Year of 2018-19.

### B. Second Year Faculty Advancing to Third Year

**MOTION:** Upon a motion by Board member **Liz Dunbar** and seconded by **Bob Ryan**, the Board unanimously approved the recommendation of **President Ivan Harrell** and that of the faculty tenure review committees that the contracts for second-year faculty members Martin Hock, Computer Science, Yolanda Williams, Business, Sergio Hernandez, Cybersecurity, Teresa Marshall, Nursing be renewed for the Academic Year of 2018-19.

# C. Third Year Faculty Consideration

**<u>MOTION</u>**: Upon a motion by Board member Pat Shuman and seconded by Bob Ryan, the Board unanimously approved the recommendation of **President Ivan Harrell** and that of the faculty tenure review committee that tenure be granted to third-year faculty member **Amber Mozeleski**.

**MOTION:** Upon a motion by Board member **Bob Ryan** and seconded by **Lois Bernstein**, the Board unanimously approved the recommendation of **President Ivan Harrell** and that of the faculty tenure review committee that tenure be granted to third-year faculty member **Delilah Bruskas**.

**<u>MOTION</u>**: Upon a motion by Board member Liz Dunbar and seconded by Bob Ryan, the Board unanimously approved the recommendation of **President Ivan Harrell** and that of the faculty tenure review committee that tenure be granted to third-year faculty member Ivan Ramirez.

**<u>MOTION</u>**: Upon a motion by Board member **Lois Bernstein** and seconded by **Bob Ryan**, the Board unanimously approved the recommendation of **President Ivan Harrell** and that of the faculty tenure review committee that tenure be granted to third-year faculty member **Jennifer Snoek-Brown**.

<u>MOTION:</u> Upon a motion by Board member Lois Bernstein and seconded by Pat Shuman, the Board unanimously approved the recommendation of **President Ivan Harrell** and that of the faculty tenure review committee that tenure be granted to third-year faculty member Joanne Iverson.

<u>MOTION:</u> Upon a motion by Board member **Bob Ryan** and seconded by Liz Dunbar, the Board unanimously approved the recommendation of **President Ivan Harrell** and that of the faculty tenure review committee that tenure be granted to third-year faculty member **Katrina Taylor**.

<u>MOTION:</u> Upon a motion by Board member Liz Dunbar and seconded by Bob Ryan, the Board unanimously approved the recommendation of **President Ivan Harrell** and that of the faculty tenure review committee that tenure be granted to third-year faculty member **Ken Cushman**.

**MOTION:** Upon a motion by Board member \_\_\_\_\_\_ and seconded by \_\_\_\_\_, the Board unanimously approved the recommendation of **President Ivan Harrell** that tenure not be granted to third-year faculty member **Matt Anderson. (Motion failed)** 

**<u>MOTION</u>**: Upon a motion by Board member **Pat Shuman** and seconded by **Lois Bernstein**, the Board unanimously approved the recommendation of **President Ivan Harrell** and that of the faculty tenure review committee that tenure be granted to third-year faculty member **Paul Landry**.

**MOTION:** Upon a motion by Board member Liz Dunbar and seconded by Bob Ryan, the Board unanimously approved the recommendation of **President Ivan Harrell** and that of the faculty tenure review committee that tenure be granted to third-year faculty member **Polly Robinson.** 

<u>MOTION:</u> Upon a motion by Board member **Pat Shuman** and seconded by **Bob Ryan**, the Board unanimously approved the recommendation of **President Ivan Harrell** and that of the faculty tenure review committee that tenure be granted to third-year faculty member **Sheri Gietzer**.

<u>MOTION:</u> Upon a motion by Board member **Bob Ryan** and seconded by **Pat Shuman**, the Board unanimously approved the recommendation of **President Ivan Harrell** and that of the faculty tenure review committee that tenure be granted to third-year faculty member **Sopang Men**.

**MOTION:** Upon a motion by Board member Liz Dunbar and seconded by Lois Bernstein, the Board unanimously approved the recommendation of **President Ivan Harrell** and that of the faculty tenure review committee that tenure be granted to third-year faculty member **Steven Johns.** 

# D. Fourth Year Faculty Consideration

<u>MOTION:</u> Upon a motion by Board member \_\_\_\_\_\_ and seconded by \_\_\_\_\_, the Board unanimously approved the recommendation of **President Ivan Harrell** and that of the faculty tenure review committee that tenure not be granted to fourth-year faculty member **Lee Sledd.** (Motion failed)

# IV. ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 4:42 pm

James Curtis, Chair