### Tacoma Community College Board of Trustees Tenure Meeting March 21, 2018, 1:00 p.m. Building 12 ~ College Room

### **MINUTES**

#### **Board Members**

Bob Ryan James Curtis Gretchen Adams Lois Bernstein Liz Dunbar

#### Administration/Faculty/Staff/Guests

Anna Cunningham Alisa Birkenstein Kim Ward **Emilie Coates-White** Megan Arzola Yvonne Unnold Rob Olsen Steve Brown Tod Treat Richard Wakefield Julie Benson Joe Shannon Blaine Hunt Barb Peterson Latoya Reid Sabine Endicott Nigeria Bell Kathy Brown Shema Hanebutte Steffi Schrepfer Brian Duchin Judy Loveless-Morris Andrew Cho Lia Felizardo Shea Bower Joshua Wright Melissa Stoddard Mary Chikwinya Rick Brady Kelly Maxfield

#### I. CALL TO ORDER

Chair **Ryan** called the meeting to order at 1:02 p.m.

# II. Executive Session - Regarding Tenure

At 1:05 p.m., Chair **Ryan** announced that the Board would adjourn into Executive Session until approximately 3:25 p.m. to interview third year tenure candidates and to discuss tenure issues. Action will be taken as a result of the session.

### III. Board Action as a Result of Executive Session

At 3:13 p.m., the Board reconvened for open public meeting.

As a result of Executive Session, the following action was taken:

### A. First Year Faculty Advancing to Second Year

<u>MOTION:</u> Upon a motion by Board member **Bernstein**, the Board unanimously approved the recommendation of **Dr. Tod Treat** and that of the faculty tenure review committees that the contracts for first-year faculty members Martin Hock, Computer Science, Yolanda Williams, Business, Sergio Hernandez, Cybersecurity, and Teresa Marshall, Nursing, be renewed for the Academic Year of 2018-19.

#### B. Second Year Faculty Advancing to Third Year

<u>MOTION:</u> Upon a motion by Board member **Dunbar,** the Board unanimously approved the recommendation of **Dr. Tod Treat** and that of the faculty tenure review committees that the contracts for second-year faculty members Amber Mozeleski, Math, Ivan Ramirez, Physics/Astronomy, Jennifer Snoek-Brown, Librarian, Katrina Taylor, Political Science, Ken Cushman, Biology, Matt Anderson, Education Transfer, Polly Robinson, Communications, Steve Simpson, Networking/Cybersecurity, Steven Johns, Communications, Joanne Iverson, Nursing, Paul Landry, Paralegal, Sheri Gietzen, Communications, Sopang Men, Communications, and Delilah Bruskas, Nursing, be renewed for the Academic Year of 2018-19.

# C. Third Year Faculty Advancing to Fourth Year

**MOTION:** Upon a motion by Board member **Adams**, the Board unanimously approved the recommendation of **Dr. Tod Treat** and that of the faculty tenure review committee that the contract for third-year faculty member Lee Sledd, Communication and Transitional Studies, be renewed for the Academic Year of 2018-19.

# D. Third Year Faculty Consideration

**MOTION:** Upon a motion by Board member **Curtis**, the Board unanimously approved the recommendation of **Dr. Tod Treat** and that of the faculty tenure review committee that tenure be granted to third-year faculty member Rob Olsen, Business & Logistics.

**MOTION:** Upon a motion by Board member **Dunbar**, the Board unanimously approved the recommendation of **Dr. Tod Treat** and that of the faculty tenure review committee that tenure be granted to third-year faculty member Anna Cunningham, Biology.

**MOTION:** Upon a motion by Board member **Curtis**, the Board unanimously approved the recommendation of **Dr. Tod Treat** and that of the faculty tenure review committee that tenure be granted to third-year faculty member Megan Arzola, Nursing.

<u>MOTION:</u> Upon a motion by Board member **Curtis**, the Board unanimously approved the recommendation of **Dr. Tod Treat** and that of the faculty tenure review committee that tenure be granted to third-year faculty member Alisa Ulferts, Developmental Studies.

**MOTION:** Upon a motion by Board member **Adams**, the Board unanimously approved the recommendation of **Dr. Tod Treat** and that of the faculty tenure review committee that tenure be granted to third-year faculty member Emilie Coates-White, English for Academic Purposes.

**MOTION:** Upon a motion by Board member **Dunbar**, the Board unanimously approved the recommendation of **Dr. Tod Treat** and that of the faculty tenure review committee that tenure be granted to third-year faculty member Latoya Reid, Developmental Studies.

<u>MOTION:</u> Upon a motion by Board member **Bernstein**, the Board unanimously approved the recommendation of **Dr. Tod Treat** and that of the faculty tenure review committee that tenure be granted to third-year faculty member Nigeria Bell, Counseling.

**MOTION:** Upon a motion by Board member **Curtis**, the Board unanimously approved the recommendation of **Dr. Tod Treat** and that of the faculty tenure review committee that tenure be granted to third-year faculty member Steffi Schrepfer, Psychology.

<u>MOTION:</u> Upon a motion by Board member **Curtis**, the Board unanimously approved the recommendation of **Dr. Tod Treat** and that of the faculty tenure review committee that tenure be granted to third-year faculty member Judy Loveless-Morris, Sociology.

**MOTION:** Upon a motion by Board member **Dunbar**, the Board unanimously approved the recommendation of **Dr. Tod Treat** and that of the faculty tenure review committee that tenure be granted to third-year faculty member Lia Felizardo, Diagnostic Medical Sonography.

**MOTION:** Upon a motion by Board member **Curtis**, the Board unanimously approved the recommendation of **Dr. Tod Treat** and that of the faculty tenure review committee that tenure be granted to third-year faculty member Joshua Wright, Emergency Medical Services.

#### IV. ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 3:22 pm.

Bob Ryan, Chair