Tacoma Community College Board of Trustees Special Meeting September 29, 2017 – 3:00 p.m. Building 12 – Board Room

MINUTES

Board Members

Administrators/ Staff / Guests

Bob Ryan
James Curtis
Gretchen Adams
Lois Bernstein
Liz Dunhar

Kelly Maxfield Kim Ward Diane Valdez Kirby Bedonie Bill Ryberg Andrew Cho Latoya Reid Dolores Haugen Mary Chikwinya

Mike Goncharuk Dr. David Howard Julie Benson Cliff Frederickson Beth Brooks Shawn McRavin Patti Hermoso Krista Fox Rick Brady

I. CALL TO ORDER

Chair Ryan called the meeting to order at 3:02 p.m.

II. PRESIDENTIAL SEARCH FIRM DECISION DISCUSSION

Co-Chair **James Curtis** gave an overview of the Board search committee activities. Eight search firms submitted RFP's for consideration. The proposals were reviewed by James **Curtis**, Trustee Lois **Bernstein**, and Dean Kim **Ward** and they selected the top three companies; ACCT Executive Search, AGB Search, and Gold Hill & Associates who participated in Skype interviews on September 22 at a special Board Meeting. Co-Chair **Curtis** conducted reference checks on all three companies and was able to gather direct feedback at the ACCT Conference he recently attended. After reviewing the scoring and reference checks, the committee recommended AGB Search.

MOTION: Upon a motion by Board member **Adams**, the Board unanimously approved the selection of AGB Search to conduct the presidential search.

III. EXECUTIVE SESSION

At 3:22 p.m., Chair **Ryan** announced that the Board would adjourn into executive session for approximately 45 minutes to discuss personnel matters. At 4:05 p.m., the session was extended another 15 minutes.

IV. BOARD ACTION AS A RESULT OF EXECUTIVE SESSION

At 4:24 p.m., the open board meeting reconvened. No action was taken as a result of the executive session.

V. PUBLIC COMMENT/REMARKS

Classified Presidential Search Committee representative, Diane Valdez, stated she is very happy with the selection of AGB Search.

VI. ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 4:35 p.m.

Robert Ryan, Chair