Tacoma Community College Board of Trustees Special Meeting May 3, 2017, 3:30 PM Building 12 – Board Room

MINUTES

Board Members Bob Ryan Gretchen Adams James Curtis Lois Bernstein Liz Dunbar Administrators/Staff/Students Marcia Moe Sonja Morgan Kelly Maxfield Frankie Roe Jayne Schmidtke Ben Feldbush

I. CALL TO ORDER

Board Chair Ryan called the meeting to order at 3:45 p.m.

II. ELLEN PINTO OUTSTANDING STUDENT AWARD

Interviews and Selection – Nominations for three students, Frankie Roe, Jayne Schmidtke, and Ben Feldbush, were submitted to the Board. The three students were individually interviewed by the Trustees and asked the same questions.

The Board discussed the responses of the candidates to determine which nominee would receive the Outstanding Student of the Year Award. The award recipient will receive a plaque and \$1,000 and the two other finalists will each receive a certificate and a monetary award of \$500 to be given at the Student Awards Ceremony on May 16, 2017.

MOTION: Upon a motion by Board member **Adams**, the Board granted the Ellen Pinto Student of the Year Award to Ben Feldbush.

III. ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 5:05 p.m.

Bob Ryan, Chair