Tacoma Community College Board of Trustees Regular Meeting March 15, 2017, 1:00 p.m. Building 12 ~ College Room

MINUTES

Administration/Faculty/Staff/Guests

Bob Ryan, Chair Gretchen Adams, Vice Chair Lois Bernstein James Curtis Liz Dunbar

Board Members

Mary Chikwinya Bill Ryberg Tod Treat Kelly Maxfield Shaun Henderson Heather Cushman Joe Shannon Mark Allen Marit Berg Adrian Singh Kim Harrington Jeff Engle Katie Gulliford Chris Willett Greg Ferencko Sellie Clark Meredith LaFlesh Jon Armel Rebecca Sliger

Rebekah Williams Dalby Michael Huffman Candice Watkins Jillian Edwards Greg Carter Julie Benson Ruth Lopes James Reisdorf Krista Fox Corinne Jarvis Char Gore Jared Abwawo

CALL TO ORDER

Chair Ryan called the meeting to order at 1:05 p.m.

II. Executive Session - Regarding Tenure

At 1:05 p.m. Chair **Ryan** announced that the Board would adjourn into Executive Session until approximately 3:50 p.m. to interview third year tenure candidates and to discuss tenure issues. Action will be taken as a result of the session.

111.

I.

Board Action as a Result of Executive Session

At 3:53 p.m., the Board reconvened for open public meeting.

As a result of Executive Session, the following action was taken:

A. First Year Faculty Advancing to Second Year

MOTION: Upon a motion by Board member Bernstein, the Board unanimously approved the recommendation of Dr. Tod Treat and that of the faculty tenure review committees that the contracts for first-year faculty members Amber Mozeleski, Math, Jennifer Snoek-Brown, Librarian, Ken Cushman, Biology, Polly Robinson, Communications, Steven Johns, Humanities, Paul Landry, Paralegal, Sopang Men, Communication & Transitional Studies, Angeline Namrimbe, Nursing, Ivan Ramirez, Physics/Astronomy, Katrina Taylor, Political Science, Matt Anderson, Education Transfer, Steve Simpson, Networking & Cybersecurity, Joanna Iverson, Nursing, Sheri Gietzen, Communication & Transitional Studies, Angeline Studies, and Delilah Bruskas, Nursing, be renewed for the Academic Year of 2017-18.

B. Second Year Faculty Advancing to Third Year

MOTION: Upon a motion by Board member **Curtis**, the Board unanimously approved the recommendation of **Dr. Tod Treat** and that of the faculty tenure review committees that the contracts for second-year faculty members **Emilie Coates-White**, English, **Alisa Ulferts**, Developmental Studies, **Judy Loveless-Morris**, Sociology, **Megan Arzola**, Nursing, **Lee Sledd**, English & EAP, **Robert Olsen**, Business & Logistics, **Latoya Reid**, Developmental Studies, **Anna Cunningham**, Biology, **Steffi** Schrepfer, Psychology, **Lia Felizardo**, Diagnostic Medical Sonography, **Nigeria Bell**, Counseling, and **Joshua Wright**, Emergency Medical Services, be renewed for the Academic Year of 2017-18.

C. Third Year Faculty Advancing to Fourth Year

<u>MOTION:</u> Upon a motion by Board member **Bernstein**, the Board unanimously approved the recommendation of **Dr. Tod Treat** and that of the faculty tenure review committee that the contract for third-year faculty member **Jeanette Smith-Perrone**, Networking & Cybersecurity, be renewed for the Academic Year of 2017-18.

D. Third Year Faculty Consideration

<u>MOTION</u>: Upon a motion by Board member **Dunbar**, the Board unanimously approved the recommendation of **Dr. Tod Treat** and that of the faculty tenure review committee that tenure be granted to third-year faculty member **Shaun Henderson**, Biology.

<u>MOTION</u>: Upon a motion by Board member **Adams**, the Board unanimously approved the recommendation of **Dr. Tod Treat** and that of the faculty tenure review committee that tenure be granted to third-year faculty member **Mark Allen**, Chemistry.

MOTION: Upon a motion by Board member **Adams**, the Board unanimously approved the recommendation of **Dr. Tod Treat** and that of the faculty tenure review committee that tenure be granted to third-year faculty member **Adrian Singh**, Chemistry.

<u>MOTION:</u> Upon a motion by Board member **Bernstein**, the Board unanimously approved the recommendation of **Dr. Tod Treat** and that of the faculty tenure review committee that tenure be granted to third-year faculty member **Jeff Engle**, Chemistry.

MOTION: Upon a motion by Board member **Curtis**, the Board unanimously approved the recommendation of **Dr. Tod Treat** and that of the faculty tenure review committee that tenure be granted to third-year faculty member **Chris Willett**, Math.

MOTION: Upon a motion by Board member **Adams**, the Board unanimously approved the recommendation of **Dr. Tod Treat** and that of the faculty tenure review committee that tenure be granted to third-year faculty member **Jon Armel**, Math.

<u>MOTION</u>: Upon a motion by Board member **Dunbar**, the Board unanimously approved the recommendation of **Dr. Tod Treat** and that of the faculty tenure review committee that tenure be granted to third-year faculty member **Sellie Clark**, Math.

<u>MOTION</u>: Upon a motion by Board member **Bernstein**, the Board unanimously approved the recommendation of **Dr. Tod Treat** and that of the faculty tenure review committee that tenure be granted to third-year faculty member **Rebekah Dalby Williams**, Librarian.

<u>MOTION</u>: Upon a motion by Board member **Curtis**, the Board unanimously approved the recommendation of **Dr. Tod Treat** and that of the faculty tenure review committee that tenure be granted to third-year faculty member **Jillian Edwards**, Nursing.

<u>MOTION</u>: Upon a motion by Board member **Adams**, the Board unanimously approved the recommendation of **Dr. Tod Treat** and that of the faculty tenure review committee that tenure be granted to third-year faculty member **Ruth Lopes**, Nursing.

<u>MOTION:</u> Upon a motion by Board member **Bernstein**, the Board unanimously approved the recommendation of **Dr. Tod Treat** and that of the faculty tenure review committee that tenure be granted to fourth-year faculty member **James Reisdorf**, Accounting.

MOTION: Upon a motion by Board member **Curtis**, the Board unanimously approved the recommendation of **Dr. Tod Treat** and that of the faculty tenure review committee that tenure be granted to third-year faculty member **Corinne Jarvis**, HIT.

IV. ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 4:00 pm

Labut M	the	
Bob Ryan, Chair	- Marine - M	-
	J	