# Tacoma Community College Board of Trustees Special Meeting May 5, 2016, 3:30 PM Building 12 – Board Room

## MINUTES

Board Members Bob Ryan

Don Dennis Gretchen Adams James Curtis Liz Dunbar Administrators/Staff/Students Sheila Ruhland Marcia Moe Judy Colarusso Sonja Morgan Agnes Song Henry Bowie Greidi Ajalik

#### I. CALL TO ORDER

Board Chair Ryan called the meeting to order at 3:31 p.m.

## II. ELLEN PINTO OUTSTANDING STUDENT AWARD

Interviews and Selection – Nominations for three students, Agnes Song, Henry Bowie and Greidi Ajalik, were submitted to the Board. The three students were individually interviewed by the Trustees and asked the same questions.

The Board discussed the responses of the candidates to determine which nominee would receive the Outstanding Student of the Year Award. The award recipient will receive a plaque and \$1,000 and the two other finalists will each receive a certificate and a monetary award of \$500 to be given at the Student Awards Ceremony on May 17.

**MOTION:** Upon a motion by Board member **Adams** the Board awarded the Ellen Pinto Outstanding Student of the Year Award to Greidi Ajalik.

## III. ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 5:05 p.m.

Robert Ryan, Chair