### Tacoma Community College Board of Trustees Special Meeting March 16, 2016, 1:00 p.m. Building 12 ~ College Room

### **MINUTES**

## Administration/Faculty/Staff/Guests

Board Members Bob Ryan, Chair Gretchen Adams, Vice Chair James Curtis Don Dennis Liz Dunbar

Sheila Ruhland Mike Goncharuk Judy Colarusso Cathie Bitz Anne Lyman Mary Fox Yvonne Unnold Heather Gillanders Allen Braden Candice Watkins Melissa Adams Melissa Stoddard Kendra Feinstein Gabby Feinstein Josh Feinstein Katie Gulliford Mike Flodin Mary Pederson Kathy Brown

Tod Treat Shema Hanebutte Mary Chikwinya Jennifer Sorensen Jim Carroll Krista Fox Mary Jane Oberhofer Camille Lowman Mary Anne Tagulinao Craig Cowden Julie Benson Emilie Coates-White Kim Ward John Falskow Zack Lyman John Falshu Ella Guilford John Miller

#### I. CALL TO ORDER

Chair Ryan called the meeting to order at 1:00 p.m.

## II. Executive Session - Regarding Tenure

At 1:01 p.m. Chair **Ryan** announced that the Board would adjourn into Executive Session until approximately 4:10 p.m. to interview third year tenure candidates and to discuss tenure issues. Action will be taken as a result of the session.

#### III. Board Action as a Result of Executive Session

At 4:10 p.m. the Board reconvened for open public meeting.

As a result of Executive Session, the following action was taken:

#### A. First Year Faculty Advancing to Second Year

**MOTION:** Upon a motion by Board member **Adams**, the Board unanimously approved the recommendation of **President Sheila Ruhland** and that of the faculty tenure review committees that the contracts for first-year faculty members **Latoya Reid**, Developmental Studies, **Aliza Ulferts**, Developmental Studies, **Anna Cunningham**, Biology, **Judy Loveless-Morris**, Sociology, **Steffi Schrepfer**, Psychology, **Megan Arzola**, Nursing, **Lia Felizardo**, Diagnostic Medical Sonography, **Lee Sledd**, Developmental Studies, **Emilie Coates-White**, Developmental Studies, **Nigeria Bell**, Counseling, **Robert Olsen**, Business & Logistics, and **Joshua Wright**, Emergency Medical Services, be renewed for Academic Year 2016-17.

#### B. Second Year Faculty Advancing to Third Year

<u>MOTION:</u> Upon a motion by Board member **Curtis**, the Board unanimously approved the recommendation of **President Sheila Ruhland** and that of the faculty tenure review committees that the contracts for second-year faculty members **Jillian Edwards**, Nursing, **Shaun Henderson**, Biology, **Mark Allen**, Chemistry, **Adrian Singh**, Chemistry, **Jeff Engle**, Chemistry, **Chris Willett**, Mathematics, **Jon Armel**, Mathematics, **Sellie Clark**, Mathematics, **Rebekah Dalby**, Librarian, **Ruth Lopes**, Nursing, **Colleen Cawley**, Nursing, **Corinne Jarvis**, Health Information Technology, and **Jeanette Smith-Peronne**, Networking & Cyber Security, be renewed for Academic Year 2016-17.

### C. Third Year Faculty Consideration

**<u>MOTION</u>**: Upon a motion by Board member **Adams**, the Board unanimously approved the recommendation of **President Sheila Ruhland** and that of the faculty tenure review committee that tenure be granted to third-year faculty member **Kendra Feinstein**, Mathematics.

**<u>MOTION</u>**: Upon a motion by Board member **Adams**, the Board unanimously approved the recommendation of **President Sheila Ruhland** and that of the faculty tenure review committee that tenure be granted to third-year faculty member **Heather Gillanders**, Librarian.

**<u>MOTION</u>**: Upon a motion by Board member **Adams**, the Board unanimously approved the recommendation of **President Sheila Ruhland** and that of the faculty tenure review committee that tenure be granted to third-year faculty member **Anne Lyman**, Music/Choir.

**<u>MOTION</u>**: Upon a motion by Board member **Adams**, the Board unanimously approved the recommendation of **President Sheila Ruhland** and that of the faculty tenure review committee that tenure be granted to third-year faculty member **Jennifer Sorensen**, Paralegal.

**<u>MOTION</u>**: Upon a motion by Board member **Adams**, the Board unanimously approved the recommendation of **President Sheila Ruhland** and that of the faculty tenure review committee that tenure be granted to third-year faculty member **Mary Anne Tagulinao**, Nursing.

<u>MOTION:</u> Upon a motion by Board member Adams, the Board unanimously approved the recommendation of **President Sheila Ruhland** and that of the faculty tenure review committee that tenure be granted to third-year faculty member **Mary Jane Oberhofer**, Business & Logistics.

**<u>MOTION</u>**: Upon a motion by Board member **Adams**, the Board unanimously approved the recommendation of **President Sheila Ruhland** and that of the faculty tenure review committee that tenure be granted to third-year faculty member **Melissa Adams**, Librarian.

**<u>MOTION</u>**: Upon a motion by Board member **Adams**, the Board unanimously approved the recommendation of **President Sheila Ruhland** and that of the faculty tenure review committee that tenure be granted to third-year faculty member **Mary Pedersen**, Counselor.

**<u>MOTION</u>**: Upon a motion by Board member **Curtis**, the Board unanimously approved the recommendation of President Sheila Ruhland and that of the faculty tenure review committee to extend the review period of **James Reisdorf** by one contract year with his tenure process coming up for reconsideration again in March 2017.

Chair **Ryan** congratulated the faculty members on receiving tenure which was followed by a congratulatory round of applauses from all in attendance.

# IV. ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 3:15 pm.

Robert Ryan, Chair